University of Worcester Dementia Expert Shortlisted for Lifetime Achievement

Prof Dawn Brooker

Professor Dawn Brooker, Director of the Association for Dementia Studies at the University of Worcester, has spent almost 40 years working to transform the lives of people living with dementia

Influenced by personal experience of dementia in her family, she has devoted her career to helping those with dementia, and their families and carers.

“I’m really honoured to be shortlisted for such a prestigious award,” said Professor Brooker. “I am incredibly proud of the work of my whole team at Worcester, whose education programmes, research and training has helped so many people living with dementia, and their families and carers, to enable them to live as well as possible.”

Now in its 10th consecutive year, The National Dementia Care Awards, organised by The Journal of Dementia Care, recognise the very best people in the dementia care sector, whose exceptional work and contributions make better, person-centred care a reality.

Professor Brooker established the Association for Dementia Studies at the University of Worcester 10 years ago – in 2009. The team is now recognised globally as a leading authority in person-centred care.

Originally qualified as a clinical psychologist, she enjoys working at the interface between the experience of those living with dementia, care practice and research. 

Earlier this year, Professor Brooker was named in Universities UK’s Nation’s Lifesavers list, which recognises the top 100 individuals and groups in universities whose work is making a life-changing difference to the health and wellbeing of the nation.

“Although attitudes towards dementia are changing, we still have a long way to go,” Professor Brooker said. “Over the last 10 years, our work here at the University has enabled us to make a difference in dementia care and when we hear about the impact the work we’re doing here has on people’s lives, it’s a tremendously emotional and often quite humbling experience.”

The winners will be announced at an awards evening at Doncaster Racecourse on November 7.