University Lecturer Joins National Newspaper Award Panel

Back to news listings

A University of Worcester lecturer has been selected to join the judging panel for the prestigious 2014 Newspaper Awards.

Principal Lecturer Claire Wolfe, who heads up the Journalism department, will be involved in selecting the best Digital News Service of the Year, to be announced at April’s award ceremony at London’s Ritz.

The Newspaper Awards are the only industry accolades which celebrate the best in print and digital news media production and innovation. The Digital News Service of the Year award honours the media channel which has embraced technological innovation and has been designed to encourage and enhance visitor interaction across multiple platforms.

The triumphed in this category at the 2013 awards, while the Daily Telegraph won the Best National Daily Newspaper Award.

Claire Wolfe says: “It is important to recognise aspects of good practice in the rapidly changing world of journalism and I am delighted to be involved.”

Professor Antonia Payne, Head of the Institute of Humanities and Creative Arts, adds: ““It’s testament to Claire’s standing and work in the field of Journalism education that she should have been invited to be involved in this year’s Newspaper Awards.

“Worcester’s focus on multi-platform journalism is entirely in keeping with Claire’s involvement in selecting the Digital News Service of the Year, and I feel certain that her students will benefit from sharing her experience on the Awards’ judging panel.

“We are keen to enable all our students to be working at the cutting edge of their fields and Claire’s involvement with the Newspaper Awards is testament to the fact that academics at Worcester are respected for doing just that.”

Other judges for the Digital News Service category include Mark ChallinorVice President, International News Media Association; Amanda Brown, Head of Content, Audioboo; Áine Kerr, Managing Editor, Storyful; and Simon Hinde, Programme Director, Journalism and Publishing, London College of Communication, University of the Arts London.

For more information on the Awards, visit