Journalism Students Gain Award Nominations

Back to news listings

Eleven University of Worcester undergraduate students have had their work recognised by being shortlisted for the first ever Midlands Media Student Awards.

The awards, launched by the Birmingham Press Club to celebrate its 150th anniversary, were open to entries from students across the region, and look to celebrate the talent of tomorrow in journalism and broadcasting.

More than 100 entries were received over eleven separate award categories, with 17 pieces of work by Worcester students making the shortlists, which were drawn up by a panel that included academics and industry professionals.

Press Club Chairman, Ed James, says: “The Student Awards will recognise the progress and achievements of next-generation media stars developing their skills via the fantastic range of journalism courses now being offered by universities in the region.”

“The time is now right for the Press Club to take a further step forward and create a special ‘Oscars’ event for the legions of talent now beginning to make their presence felt in what is becoming an increasingly diverse industry.

“The media sector is currently facing enormous challenges and traditional outlets are under immense pressure. But I am sure the vitality and imaginative creativity of today’s students will ensure its continued existence – even though a few years from now the landscape may well have changed again!”

The awards will be presented in Birmingham on April 14, with the overall winners given the opportunity to secure internships at a range of leading digital companies, newspapers, publishers and radio and television stations.

These include the Birmingham Evening Mail, ITV, the Express and Star, Worcester News, Quidem Radio and Artsbeat Magazine and Trinity Mirror.

The University of Worcester has at least one shortlisted student in seven of the categories. They are: Rebecca Green, Oliver Kirby and Alexandra Martin (Culture); Rebecca Green and Jamie Kinman (Entertainment); Becca Husselbee and Daniel Megarry (Fashion); Karen Cartwright and Rebecca Green (Food and Drink); Karen Cartwright (nominated twice) and Joanne Webb (Lifestyle); Alexandra Martin (Travel); and Joshua Godfrey (nominate twice), Lee Mitchell and Matt Soames (Politics).

Picture shows (from l to r): Matt Soames, Joshua Godfrey, Daniel Megarry, Karen Cartwright, Alexandra Martin and Becca Husselbee.